Of the 215 books I read in 2014, here is a selection of my favourites in both nonfiction and fiction. I hope you’ll find a new-to-you title that intrigues you. All of these were published in 2014.

Nonfiction

Updike

UPDIKE by Adam Begley

A masterful literary biography that has me pledging to read as much of Updike’s oeuvre as I can. Each time I finished a book, I penned a hand-written missive to Adam Begley. So far, I’ve enjoyed Seek My Face, Always Looking: Essays on Art, and Self-Consciousness the most.

Careless

CARELESS PEOPLE by Sarah Churchwell

This book is perfect for a lit nerd like me. I underlined and scribbled in the margins to my heart’s content. It’s a fascinating, meticulously-researched account of 1922 and what was happening around him as Fitzgerald began to write what became his most famous novel.

Blood

BLOOD WILL OUT by Walter Kirn

This is a gobsmacking tale of a sociopath whom Kirn befriends in 1998 when he delivers a crippled dog to him by request. I could not put it down. You won’t be able to either. If you’re already a fan of Capote’s In Cold Blood, Kirn’s memoir is for you.

EchoSpring

THE TRIP TO ECHO SPRING: ON WRITERS AND DRINKING by Olivia Laing

A beautiful bold narrative about legendary alcoholics Berryman, Carver, Cheever, Fitzgerald, Hemingway, and Williams via a journey through the places they inhabited.

Republic

THE REPUBLIC OF IMAGINATION by Azar Nafisi

Loved, loved, love this book, dog-earing pages, scribbling in the margins. Something Nafisi admits about Raymond Chandler made me realize we could be immediate friends.

Fiction

AllTheLight

ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE by Anthony Doerr

One of the year’s best novels. Each sentence is its own reward in this unconventional narrative about WWII, featuring a young French girl and a young German boy. Beautiful and painful. I will be haunted by it for some time to come.

BeSafe

BE SAFE, I LOVE YOU by Cara Hoffman

Hoffman writes with such compassion about frangible characters. Lauren Clay has difficulty adjusting to life stateside after serving in Iraq. PTSD is explored with sensitivity. Music offers redemption.

Wake

WAKE by Anna Hope

London, November 1920. The tomb of the unknown soldier from the Great War is prepared at Westminister Abbey. Lives of several women, mothers, wives, lovers, daughters are linked in grief. Haunting debut stylistically reminiscent of Virginia Woolf.

Station11

STATION ELEVEN by Emily Mandel

This dystopic novel surprised me in its tenderness and its ability to make me feel wistful about my own time. Mandel is in top form here. The through line of playing King Lear is also very appealing to me.

Thunderstruck

THUNDERSTRUCK by Elizabeth McCracken

Each story is full of light, but also gutting. This is a remarkable collection, shortlisted for the 2014 National Book Award for fiction. The best collection of stories I’ve read in a long, long time.

Everything

EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU by Celeste Ng

All of the characters are complicit in this compelling first thriller from Ng, that begins with the accidental death of a teenaged girl.

Reunion

REUNION by Hannah Pittard

Three adult siblings return to Atlanta to deal with the fallout from their oft-philandering father’s sudden death. Enthralling narrative voice. I’ll read anything Hannah Pittard writes.